Kyrgyz Parliament has ratified the Paris Agreement

22 October 2019

On October 17, 2019, the members of the Jogorku Kenesh in the third reading adopted the draft law “On ratification of the Paris Agreement within the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, signed on December 12, 2015 in the city of Paris”. This bill was initiated by the Government of the Kyrgyz Republic by resolution No. 329 as of 06/28/19.

The agency responsible for the development and implementation of climate change policies in Kyrgyzstan is the State Agency for Environmental Protection and Forestry. Commenting the importance of this step for the country, Aizada Barieva, the Head of the Environmental Strategy and Policy Department mentioned that national experts analyzed the consequences of the Kyrgyz Republic joining the Paris Agreement.

“Under the Agreement, each party prepares, reports and maintains the consistent nationally determined contributions that it intends to achieve. Parties shall take internal mitigation measures in order to achieve the objectives of such contributions. Each Party shall report a nationally determined contribution every five years. Moreover, the Party may adjust its existing nationally determined contribution any time, ”said Aizada Barieva.

She also noted that the ratification of the Paris Agreement expands the possibilities of obtaining international support for the development of national systems, mechanisms, methodologies and tools necessary for the implementation of the Paris Agreement.

Country, which ratified the Paris Agreement has three main commitment:

•         containment of the global temperature increase within 2°C, but with a gradual transition to 1.5°C;

•         strenghted ability to adapt to the adverse effects of climate change;

•         directing financial flows towards sustainable development with low emissions and adaptation to climate change.

Kyrgyzstan joined the Paris Agreement in September 2016 during the 71st session of the UN General Assembly. And it was the only Central Asian country whose parliament has not yet ratified this document. Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan ratified the Paris Agreement in 2016, Tajikistan in 2017, and Uzbekistan in 2018.

Sources: ,;, and materials from the Internet.


Climate Change Adaptation and Mitigation Program for Aral Sea Basin (CAMP4ASB)